space hoppersFrom September 2012 we have seen changes to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum.

The changes include:

A significant reduction in the number of early learning goals children are assessed against at age 5 from 69 to 17.

Parents to get a summary of their child’s development alongside the health visitor check at age two, to help identify any early problems or special educational needs.

A new focus on three prime areas which are the foundations for childrens ability to learn and develop healthy; personal, social and emotional development; communication and language and physical development.

Beneath these are the four areas of learning where these skills can be applied to learning: literacy, mathematics, expressive art and design and understanding of the world.

Our observation, assessment and planning systems will change over this term to accommodate the changes and to give both your child and yourselves more opportunity to input into the Learning Journey.

If you have any questions please talk to your key person, they will help all they can.

If you require further information please look at the following website

or download the following Parents Guide to the EYFS EYFS_Parents_Guide WW


What they say...

“The staff at Flying Start Montessori Pre-school provide a calm and supportive early
learning setting. The manager and her team create an environment where children
truly flourish in their learning and development. Staff have high standards and high
expectations of themselves and of the children, for whom they set challenging and realistic goals.”

Accreditation Report 2015

Our Other Pre-Schools:

logo westwoodstmflitch green logo maynard nursery

© Play to Learn Ltd. 2015 l Terms of Use l website by nextnorth